Cosmetics Awareness

I was directed to the website of the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics from my reading of Raising Baby Green, and was disgusted by what I found.

Not only does the FDA have little to no regulations set for cosmetics & personal care products, while in Europe they do, several large cosmetics companies who have been informed of the toxicity of some of their products are refusing to discontinue the use of these ingredients.

As the website reads, “The Campaign for Safe Cosmetics is a coalition working to protect your health by calling for the elimination of chemicals used in the cosmetics industry linked to cancer, birth defects, and other health problems.”

The campaign encourages companies to sign the pact which says that they will phase out these toxic ingredients in the next 3 years. Since over 800 companies have signed so far, I infer that there are alternatively non-toxic ingredients that can be used. However, many of the large companies, such as Avon, Arbonne (whose slogan is “pure, safe, beneficial”), Revlon, Mary Kay & more have refused to sign!!

Since my mom has sold Avon (click for safety ratings) as long as I can remember, I’ve always liked their products, and even have sold it myself over the last few years- although I mostly buy and don’t actually sell much. 🙂 But now I’m having to reconsider my connection with Avon, and most likely will discontinue my use and promotion of their products in the near future.

A really helpful site is the Skin Deep Cosmetics Safety Database where you can search for brands & individual products to see how they score in terms of safety. And good news is that Whole Foods has instituted their own safety regulations so that seems like a safe place to buy (see article HERE), and that is where I will start my search for safer products, in addition to searching for products whose companies have signed the pact.

Leave a comment

Filed under green living

Leave a Reply

