Just Found a Reason to Knit…

I do a lot of crafts… more on that later… but knitting is something I’ve never learned how to do! Mom crochets, so that’s my yarn-craft of choice, but I’ve only ever made blankets (which take me an eternity) and scarves.

Then I found this project, and have now decided that I must learn to knit, if only to make this sweater. Although the more I think about it, there are lots of cute things I could make with two needles and a skein of yarn! I’m not sure when I’ll get started, but it’s out there on the horizon. I’ve never been that great at learning crochet techniques from patterns/books, so I may have to wait till I get back to California to have my knitter (is that a word) friends give me some live lessons.  I know my girl Emma does it, anyone else out there a knitter?

Note: I found this project HERE on the Flint Knits Blog. She offers a free pattern a cute pictures.

What are your favorite knitting patterns/projects? Does anyone have any advice for a novice knitter?

6 Comments

Filed under crafty

6 responses to “Just Found a Reason to Knit…

  1. that sweater is darling! i knit a little but i much prefer crocheting. i can do just about anything with a hook and yarn but i have never really caught on to knitting, the only thing i have ever been able to do are rectangular things like scarves and such.

    if you ever want a crochet instructor though, i am game! i used to teach crochet classes at our shelter and my students learned very well!

  2. my grandmother taught me how to knit about 2 years ago. unfortunately, i’m still working on the same scarf i started then. not that it takes that long, but i’ve just lost interest already! i would love to learn to crochet because it seems like it is faster and i’m asking my parents for a sewing machine for christmas this year because i would also love to learn to sew.

    the funny thing is i always get people asking if i’ll teach them to knit! i guess the grass is always greener on the other side, right?

  3. Belive it or not, Sean knows how. He made me that little pillow when we were dating and he’s made a couple scarves. He had to learn in 3rd or 4th grade with his class and he has recently brushed up on it. All the other manly things in his interests outweigh it I think, but it’s still funny to most people who find out :)

  4. Mom

    Well, sweetie, I (your mom) do know how to knit. I’ve made several sweaters actually. It does take longer and you have to be much more careful about the gage–to make sure it is like the pattern so that your finished product will come out the right size. Remember how tight that first afghan you made David was????–you have to be more careful with knitting, which is the reason I prefer crocheting; it’s more forgiving. There are similar sweater patterns out there that you can crochet even!!

  5. That sweater is so cute!

  6. You Tube is a great source of knitting how to videos…

Leave a Reply

